The Recording Studio Experience

April 5, 2011

What are the many things to keep in mind when recording a music CD? I am happy to say that BMI has taken care of answering this question in great detail so I don’t have to tell you about the mistakes I’ve made over the years. Check out Cliff Goldmacher’s BMI post here.

5 Responses to “The Recording Studio Experience”


  1. I enjoyed this. Caroline (who worked in the record business throughout her career) and I (who originally worked in the record business and then in a number of ancillary businesses) have spent a good deal of time around studios and recording over the years. I would, however, be very interested in hearing about your mistakes and can detail many of my own in a wide variety of areas. And, as Peter Cook once said, I’m certain I could repeat them all perfectly. Curtis

  2. jennifer Says:

    that is such a good photo of you my dear friend. !!

  3. Joan Spear Says:

    One mistake made over and over – working so long on something so I totally lose perspective and am sick of the song. Better to take more time, call in more support for opinions.


    • This is interesting and a variation on something I’ve heard about before. The Kinks (who still sort of exist; they’ve never officially disbanded) set up their own, very good, recording studio in London in 1973, because they were tired of “watching the clock” while recording because of normal financial constraints, and to take advantage of new UK tax loopholes enacted to prevent successful musicians from moving abroad. Dave Davies, the group’s lead guitarist, always said that owning your own studio was a mixed blessing because it allowed his brother Ray, the group’s main composer, to labor so intensely over things that he lost perspective and performances, that started out strong became progressively duller. Dave’s view was (and is) that rehearsal and careful pre-production drills were the answer so that you could come to the studio and try to work as quickly and “live” as possible. A variation on this is the Bob Dylan method of simply trusting to one take. If it works out, great. If not, just move on.

  4. Joan Spear Says:

    Great stories- I agree for the most part with pre-production prep, but I also often have bursts of creative genius within the process-even when I am not working with the clock-so a coach, producer or extra pair of ears is most useful for me.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

