Spontaneity

December 10, 2008

imagesLast night, dark, stormy, windy, I was chatting with Teresa and I said that I was home alone and had to go do something about dinner. She said that she was making soup, come over. Joy of joys, a spur-of-the-moment get-together. Not enough of that in my life. How about yours? I find that many people in my part of the country are so scheduled there is a lack of spontaneity in our lives. Every minute of the day is accounted for. I schedule in time for day-dreaming, wandering around the house and just reflecting. Yes, I do feel that time is speeding up. Yes, I also find that there are so many things I would like to do, that there is little time I leave for myself to simply be. I grew up where it wasn’t acceptable to do nothing. So for the past 15 years or so I have been learning to not-do all the time. My therapist once suggested I go out to the barn/studio and just lie on my back and look at the ceiling if I couldn’t write music. At first I simply couldn’t do it. 30 seconds and I was up and pacing. I have come to a place of comfort and non-judgement now and am very okay with non-doing. Out of that space have come ideas, music, visions and truths that never could have been revealed otherwise. Out of not scheduling have come wonderful encounters with loved ones. Try this not-scheduling on. You will be assaulted with all the to-do list. Observe how crucial all the stuff in that you think you need to do. Make some space and see what pops in spontaneously! You might have the pleasure of a bowl of soup and precious company with dear friends on a dark and stormy night.

Leave a Reply

