Using Twitter to Plan Dinner

December 14, 2008

images-1K, I watch Josh twitter day and night. Letting people know that now he is buying new shoes or boarding a plane or eating sushi. I think, “so, what, who cares besides his mom who always loves to know what her kids are up to?” Surprise, surprise. There are 1800 plus people who hang on every word he tweets and I can assure it isn’t rocket science that he’s writing about.

I mean, I truly want to know what’s in it for me to follow, be followed and post pithy clips of my brilliant daily life? So I’ve been reading and following some conversations that are interesting- mainly belonging to friends of Josh’s. He posted that I was “talking to myself” and encouraged a few friends to connect. Some did. Thanks, Josh. Haven’t yet figured out how to have a conversation but will do that.

317097639_3e78726d40

But I have looked around and found some very interesting blogs and a great recipe for Sweet Potato Soup from the FeelGoodGuru! Check out her woowoo site. Silly me, I just blithely commented on the site that I’d be making this soup tonight- except I have yams not sweet potatoes and I’m going to use them instead.

So, here is what I did:  my adaptation of the recipe (which came out very nicely)- organic yams, 1/4 tsp salt while veggies sauteeing, and 2 tablespoons white miso blended in at the end. Tastes awesome. I added the miso and more salt because it’s the winter and I wanted to balance the cooling nature of the coconut and lime. Love the lime and ginger and coconut milk combo, very nourishing and fulfilling feeling. If someone didn’t have coconut milk I think it would be great with almond or soy milk, too. What do you think? Thanks, Moira!

4 Responses to “Using Twitter to Plan Dinner”

  1. moira Says:

    mmmmmmm! how did the yam version turn out?? looks absolutely heart-warming.

    thanks so much for the comment! glad to meet you via your twittering son – he tweeted if i want to “talk macrobiotics” i should follow you:) look forward to it!

    great authentic blog!

    look forward to your observations on twitter…

    • joanspear Says:

      Hi Moira- my adaptation of the recipe (which came out very nicely)- organic yams, 1/4 tsp salt while veggies sauteeing, and 2 tablespoons white miso blended in at the end. Tastes awesome. I added the miso and more salt because it’s the winter and wanted to balance the cooling nature of the coconut and lime. Love the lime and ginger and coconut milk combo, very nourishing and fulfilling feeling. If someone didn’t have coconut milk I think it would be great with almond or soy milk, too. What do you think?

  2. Patty Says:

    Joanie,
    I am SO impressed with your blog. I especially LOVE the snow! And the soup! and the twittering! (I love the word “twittering.” It just rolls of my tongue. You are a true inspiration. How do you make it snow?

  3. Gina Lazenby Says:

    How funny Joanie. The soup sounds great and only last month I got this inspiration to make sweet potato and coconut soup (did not think to add lime and ginger at the time) and it was so great that I have repeated it twice to rave reviews from dinner guests. Something must be in the air! maybe there are 100 monkeys making this soup somewhere! Next time I will add the lime and ginger – etc, and the white miso. LOVE Gina


Leave a Reply

