Carried Away With Caraway

February 25, 2010

I’m in love with the flavor of caraway seeds. It’s why I love(d) rye bread (avoiding rye due to gluten sensitivity for now). I also love caraway in sauerkraut. Recently I made a soup recipe from  The Angelica Home Kitchen, a wonderful organic, vegan cookbook by Leslie McEachern, the owner of Angelica Kitchen Restaurant in NYC.

I adapted Leslie’s recipe for Creamy Carrot-Sweet Potato soup- by using onions, carrots and leaving out the sweet potatoes. Her recipe calls for 1 T each of cumin seeds, fennel seeds, caraway seeds and coriander seeds ground to a fine powder. What a concept, I’ve never really used spices in soup seasoning. Just grinding the caraway seeds  (in the coffee grinder) releases a glorious uplifting scent and the soup smells heavenly. Now I am sprinkling the leftover powder on everything. It’s fabulous!

Caraway is said to have been used in Europe longer than any other condiment. Holland is known as the principle source of commercial caraway although it is also grown in Europe, the United States and Russia today. Each seed is actually one half of the fruit from the plant known botanically as Carum carvi, a member of the parsley family. The seed is common to German, Russian, Indian, Indonesian and Scandinavian cooking. Although caraway has an affinity for cabbage, you can use it in savory or sweet dishes.

Yummy!

2 Responses to “Carried Away With Caraway”


  1. Joanie,

    Trader Joe’s makes a gluten-free “rye-less rye” that is bursting with caraway seeds. It’s made with rice and potato flour. I love it. I know you are not a fan of Trader Joes, but this is one of their great products I like to introduce my clients to.

    Patty


Leave a Reply

