Do I Look Fat In My Swimsuit Issue

June 5, 2010

There is always the bathing suit issue for some women. Here is a good article from Jezebel.com with viable reasons not to care a whit about what anyone thinks about you in your suit.

Here are a few reasons I like.

#1:

It’s my BODY. I live with it 100% of the time. It does awesome things for me like breathing, and walking, and swimming and I decided long ago that I am not going to allow anyone to convince me to hate or be ashamed of something that I am with 100% of the time for the rest of my life. I get to choose how I feel about my body – nobody else can make me feel good or bad, it’s on me.

#5:

It is maddening to me that the diet industry makes 40 BILLION dollars a year convincing women to hate themselves. They create fear and uncertainty by saying things like “Swimsuit season is just around the corner, are you ready to wear a swimsuit?”

And finally:

#6:

People can see me. So they know how big I am whether I’m in a swimsuit, or jeans and a t-shirt. If they are shocked at my size in a swimsuit, they should have been paying better attention. That’s just a big sack of not-my-problem.

The author also lists alternatives to bathing suits, cover-ups and also suggest facing your fears by writing them down.

Uplifting and empowering article.

Via: Umran

Leave a Reply

