I Scan My Food

July 6, 2010

Interesting new iPhone app from Iscanmyfood.com. According to developer Marietta Darrah,  “after 5 months of work and development, our iPhone app “I Scan My Food” is finally in the iTunes Store. We’re hoping to be able to develop it for other smart phones in the future and help raise awareness how toxic food additives, GMOs, and modified ingredients affect our health in the long run.”

The app contains a large database of photos and descriptions of many toxic substances found in everyday foods we purchase at the store. You can research foods and can send the results through your phone. Why would we want to do that, not sure. But watch the 8 minute intro video and you, too, will be able to scan the ingredients on packaging and track food additives in the food and beverages purchased every day at the supermarket. You can scan foods, cosmetics with the lite or Pro version. Ingredients are listed from green (safe) to red and orange (varying degrees of toxicity). The pro version is available on iTunes for $9.99.

I have downloaded it and have used for a day- I am finding it hard to do a correct scan. It is best to have the label on table or countertop. You do have to hold your camera steady.

via: Luisa

2 Responses to “I Scan My Food”

  1. Sterling Hill Says:

    I Scan My Food

    I can’t get this app – iTunes says “Your request could not be completed. The item you’ve requested is not currently available in the U.S. store”

    I get this same response regardless of which links (see above) I come from… any ideas?


Leave a Reply

