Eat it Anyway?

December 18, 2010

The question is this: You are taken out to dinner at a fine restaurant. You order the red snapper special. It arrives and tastes terrible. The sauce taste like vinegar, not wine. The mashed potatoes are watery and the fish is rubber. You do not eat. The waiter never comes over to inquire how the meal is going. Your host doesn’t get that you aren’t eating.

When everyone at the table is finished the table is cleared and the waiter doesn’t even notice my meal hasn’t been touched. I point out that it wasn’t good. I don’t think he speaks English. The bill arrives and we are charged for a dinner I did not eat. What would you do?

My generous host says, “These guys are my friends,” and he pays for my uneaten dinner.

What does one do? What would Teresa do? Complain and made a scene, I don’t think so.

I will not be returning to Divino in Sarasota. Toast and almond butter for dinner, yummy!

P.S. This is NOT a photo of tonight’s dinner….

 

 

Leave a Reply

