Mango Pico de Gallo

June 7, 2011

My dear friend, T, invited me over for a fish taco dinner party on Sunday night. I asked if I could bring something and she requested Pico de gallo. I don’t know what it is, even- but gather that it’s what I call salsa and it goes on the fish. Pico de gallo in Spanish means rooster’s beak–whatever–and can be made as a fruit salad with chili and other spices sprinkled on the top, or as a raw condiment like a chutney made with vegetables. In the US we think of salsa as a chutney of diced tomatoes, maybe avocado, peppers, definitely a spicy jalapeno, lime juice, salt and often my unfavorite green, cilantro, sprinkled in so I cannot pick it out. I’ve had salsa made from peaches and also mangos as well as watermelon! I decided to be creative and make it up.

I had a few very ripe mangos on hand, went down to the store and bought 1 plum tomato, 1 red pepper and a green jalapeno, 1 lime. I also had a few little red onions left from last year and lots of fresh parsley in my garden, so I set about to make up a simple but yummy Pico de Gallo for our fish tacos.

Dice small 1/4 cup red onion

Dice 1/2 red pepper (remove the seeds and extra skin inside, first)

Dice 1 small plum tomato

Chop very fine- 1 small hot pepper of your choice (keep 1/2 T aside in case it is a very hot pepper or people want something like the beak of a rooster pico….)

Peel and Dice 1/2 cup ripe mango

Chop large handful of parsley  very fine

Toss all the vegetables along with

1/2-1 t seasalt to taste

Add juice of 1 lime (or more to taste)

I garnished with chive flowers (you can see on at the top of photo, above) I broke up a few flowers and sprinkled in the salsa, too. It was very yummy.

The dinner also included watermelon gazpacho, fresh picked garden salad with oil and salt dressing, sweet and spicy beans and rice, guacamole (with the dreaded cilantro), spicy tilapia, rice and corn tacos, my Pico de G and T’s special gluten-free banana cake. Delish.

Here it is before the parsley was added. Still beautiful!

 

3 Responses to “Mango Pico de Gallo”


  1. Joanie: This is lovely to think about eating (I love every part of it) and the salsa is beautiful to look at. I’ve clipped this for my recipe file. And now we’re going to head out to a pleasant dinner because we need a break and also to beat the southeastern PA heat. Curtis

  2. Teresa Hargrave Says:

    I ate the last of this wonderful pico on a piece of romaine with turkey for lunch today. Thanks so much! Yummy. Super Yummy.
    xx, T


  3. That looks gorgeous! Such beautiful colours! Its mango season here right now, the shops are full of about 20 different varieties, so I’m always looking for things to do with them – aside from sitting in the bath eating them!! Going to give that a try tonight 🙂
    Oh and please get me the watermelon gazpacho recipe! I’m into savoury watermelon dishes right now (also in season here) – I do a salad with watermelon, feta and mint which is as pretty as it is delicious!


Leave a Reply

